The Jaypee group of companies has consistently displayed full awareness about its social responsibilities through the Jaiprakash SewaSansthan (JSS), a 'non-profiting' trust registered under the Income Tax Act, 1961. It has been established to discharge its responsibility towards the society. The Sansthan functions with a holistic approach for overall socio-economic development. Set up in 1993, the trust aims to reduce the pain and distress in the society. The group firmly believes that education is the cornerstone to economic development. The group currently offers education through twenty seven schools, five ITCs, two polytechnic colleges, two post graduate colleges and three universities catering the needs of 30,000 students with an objective to equip at least one lac student with the power of education by 2020.

The Comprehensive Rural Development Programme (CRDP) covers a wide range of projects such as free medical camps, health check-ups for rural school children, literacy campaigns, creating water reservoirs in villages, and vocational training for women.

With the thought of using technology effectively for economic growth, the visionary founder of the JSS, Shri Jaiprakash Gaur has set up three higher technical universities – Jaypee Institute of Information Technology University (JIIT), Noida; Jaypee University of Information Technology (JUIT) at Waknaghat, Himachal Pradesh; and Jaypee University of Engineering & Technology (JUET) at Guna, Madhya Pradesh.

The three institutes have been envisioned to reflect the motto "Education, Empowerment and Enlightenment". The institutes strive to bring innovation, creation and flexibility in their curriculum through credit and non-credit courses, open-ended projects.